Archive for October 12, 2013

The Liverpool overhead railway ran the entire length of the dock front in Liverpool.

DSC02254

It was referred to locally as the ‘dockers umbrella’. It opened in 1893, having taken fewer than four years to build and in its construction signalling and the use of electricity as a power source ( as opposed to steam) it had many unique and innovative design features.

DSC02260

DSC02249

DSC02253

DSC02252

DSC02251

Run as a private railway,it escaped nationalisation although this ultimately may have led to its downfall. In 1955, a report on the structure of the overhead lines listed extensive repairs needed to be carried out in order to make the railway safe. The private company who owned the railway, deemed these were unaffordable and opted to close it down. It closed to passengers in 1956 and the track was dismantled the following year.

This carriage and the section of track are preserved in the Museum of Liverpool